Accrington Web

Accrington Web (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/index.php)
-   Photoshop, Digital Photography, Digital Imaging (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f90/)
-   -   photos from xd picture card? (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f90/photos-from-xd-picture-card-37699.html)

lindsay ormerod 12-03-2008 14:23

photos from xd picture card?

Right, well to start off I am a total novice at this so please use short and simple words !
I have a very old but reliable Fuji digital camera, I have previously put photos from a 64mb Fuji xd card onto my pc with no problem, i now have a bigger memory card, an Olympus xd 512mb , I am using the same pc and the same card reader yet I can't get the photos up. if I pit theold card into the card reader it works so it's not the reader.
What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it ?

entwisi 12-03-2008 14:31

Re: photos from xd picture card?

It will be down to the formatting of the card, you will probably have to use the camera via USB to download them this time, then put the card in the reader and format it from teh PC it should then work fine from that point on.When you bought it it was probably formatted in FAT ro FAT16, if you use teh PC it will do it in FAT32 which is backwards compatible.

lindsay ormerod 12-03-2008 14:36

I think I understand that, so now I have the bijou problem of finding a usb lead, not got one with camera ! Maybe my mum still has it somewhere?
If not, are they universal or am I gonna be looking for one for the specific camera?
Thanks for your help btw, karma sent !

Neil 12-03-2008 14:55

Your PC should read the card even if it is FAT16. I have to specifically format SD cards as FAT16 to work in my sat nav

Mick 12-03-2008 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by lindsay ormerod (Post 544724)
I think I understand that, so now I have the bijou problem of finding a usb lead, not got one with camera ! Maybe my mum still has it somewhere?