Accrington Web

Accrington Web (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/index.php)
-   Tech Talk (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f83/)
-   -   Scam Phone Call - PC Problem Warning (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f83/scam-phone-call-pc-problem-warning-56049.html)

***Mr D*** 15-12-2010 12:32

Scam Phone Call - PC Problem Warning

Had a intersting phone call from a lady from Microsoft support advising my PC may have exploits that my Anti Virus cannot decect, this is effecting people in Accrington and they can fix it for me.

Now I love this type of call and did my usual wind up procedure, after telling her I was a computer programmer for 20 years they decided to hang up on me.

This is just a warning to others as she wanted me to log on to my pc and guide me through the fix.

Do not do this. Not sure what the scam is but as she clearly mentioned Accrington others may get this call.

Gremlin 15-12-2010 12:45

Re: Scam Phone Call - PC Problem Warning

I had a similar call from "Microsoft support" and asked her to slowly tell me the details of the fix so that I could go through it in my own time.
After I explained that I had passed all my computer and electronics exams years ago and keep up to date with the latest technology she thanked me for my time and went swiftly off to phone some other mug.
Still it's more plausible than the Nigerian Chiefs daughter who wanted to give me a share of the many millions of pounds she had but needed my bank details so she could deposit it there.

jaysay 15-12-2010 18:06

Me too, I've had the same call, they give themselves away slightly when thy can hardly speak English:D

accyman 16-12-2010 13:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaysay (Post 869237)
Me too, I've had the same call, they give themselves away slightly when thy can hardly speak English:D

ringing from newcastle then are they ?

jaysay 16-12-2010 18:03