Accrington Web

Accrington Web (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/index.php)
-   Lost Friends / Family (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f67/)
-   -   memories (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f67/memories-59641.html)

fliss 24-10-2011 14:25

memories

Does anyone remember the old accy co-op? I was a tv engineer from 1967-1978.:jimbo:

Bernard Dawson 24-10-2011 14:42

Re: memories

I remember the co-op. Did you work in Manor St?

lancsdave 24-10-2011 16:59

I used to work for the Blackburn Rd Co-Op in the early eighties, presume they didn't have telly engineers then

Bernard Dawson 24-10-2011 18:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by lancsdave (Post 942090)
I used to work for the Blackburn Rd Co-Op in the early eighties, presume they didn't have telly engineers then

Probably not by then Dave. I served my time with the co-op in the electricians shop, which was next door to the TV engineers place on Manor St. That's in the late 1960s

jaysay 24-10-2011 18:14

I had a mate who worked for the coop in 60's for a while

TubbyLes 24-10-2011 18:16

You might remember Jimmy Lomax who was a fellow radio ham as G3TU but much older than me.I lived at the other side of Burnley rd. from Manor st. and often popped in for the odd component if I was building something.

Bernard Dawson 24-10-2011 18:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by TubbyLes (Post 942124)
You might remember Jimmy Lomax who was a fellow radio ham as G3TU but much older than me.I lived at the other side of Burnley rd. from Manor st. and often popped in for the odd component if I was building something.

I cant say I recall the name, but the memory's not brilliant.

fliss 25-10-2011 09:38

Yes ,I did work from Manor St, I covered all the Rossendale valley and Jimmy Lomax was my boss.

hedman2003 25-10-2011 18:23

Was the Co op near where the Calder is now