Accrington Web

Accrington Web (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/index.php)
-   Nostalgia aint what it used to be... (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f80/)
-   -   Death of tradition. (https://www.accringtonweb.com/forum/f80/death-of-tradition-28839.html)

keith 06-03-2007 20:27

Re:globe pub

I seem to remember when I was a drummer in the church lads brigade 1940/50 period our drum major harry walshs mother was the landlady of the globe pub facing the last orders pub on blackburn road I stand to be corrected

WillowTheWhisp 07-03-2007 08:50

Re: Death of tradition.

Quote:

Originally Posted by garinda (Post 390173)
I think places like this still exist...they are called gay bars!:D

Don't they have to allow lesbians in in these days of equality for all? ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ianto.W. (Post 393442)
Drifting off thead a little women who did their washing on any other day except Monday was considered as 'common'.

I must be common then because I've got the washing machine on. ;)

Tinkerbelle 07-03-2007 22:17

I know the guys at the Pioneer in Church tried there best to keep the tap room male only ,they lost though. It was always good fun in their being one of the only females able to go in .... perks of being the steward and stewardess's grandaughter :D

cherokee 08-03-2007 00:30

bring em back !!!!! I say ...so us women can have a pint in peace..lol!!!

JohnW 08-03-2007 16:22

Before leaving England's shores ten years ago, I played drums at the Birkdale Conservative Club. There was a "Men Only" room there, but there were only women behind the bar serving the drinks! Strange! The club had no female members either, only the men were allowed to be members and the women were allowed in as their guests, but not into the "Men Only" room of course.

Ianto.W. 10-03-2007 14:12

Re: globe pub

Quote:

Originally Posted by keith (Post 393720)